November 2018 Promotion Night

November 28, 2018 –Mt Airy Composite Squadron met at the Izaak Walton League of America, Mt Airy Chapter. The regularly scheduled meeting for the fourth Wednesday of the month was a celebration of promotions and awards. The evening’s proceedings were augmented with guest speaker Lieutenant Colonel Stephen Gillis. He tackled the topics of leadership, regulations, and procedures. Interspersed within the lesson were historic references and examples. 

Cadet Staff Sergeant Snyder conducted uniform inspections, pointing out infractions and more importantly, giving instruction on corrections.  The advent of two potential cadet members visiting the squadron provided Cadet Staff Sergeant Snyder an opportunity to teach and review basic drill. Technical Sergeant Madsen conducted flight time drill maneuvers.

The promotion ceremony began with the elevation of grade for cadets. Parents are encouraged to attend and participate:

  • Dylan Marty became Cadet Chief Master Sergeant Marty
  • Dimitry Madsen became Cadet Master Sergeant Madsen
  • Conner Snyder became Cadet Technical Sergeant Snyder

Guest presenter, Lieutenant Colonel Bob Midkiff, Maryland Wing, Civil Air Patrol, Emergency Services Officer, attended Mt Airy Composite Squadron’s promotion night. Captain Laura Smith Velazquez, Cadet Chief Master Sergeant Dylan Marty and Cadet Technical Sergeant Conner Snyder were awarded the Disaster Relief Ribbon and Silver “V” device.  These squadron members participated in a disaster relief effort deployed in response to Hurricane Florence in North Carolina.  As a Presidential declared disaster, they earned the Silver “V” devise and may wear it on the ribbon. During the presentation, Lt Col Midkiff regaled the audience with a description of the events that led to the mission and the magnitude of effort involved. Before leaving, Lt Col Midkiff made an additional presentation. Cadet Technical Sergeant Conner Snyder completed his emergency services ground team-level three training and has achieved his ground team badge.

Last, but not least, was the recognition of five cadets that completed the written and performance requirements for three progressively challenging stages of model rocketry. TheCivil Air Patrol Official Model Rocketry Badge was awarded to:

  • Cadet Airman First Class Micah Mulhern
  • Cadet Second Lieutenant Aurora Albertson
  • Cadet Technical Sergeant Conner Snyder
  • Cadet Master Sergeant Madsen
  • Cadet Airman First Class Conner McGarrah
Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply