Mt Airy Fireworks Festival

The Mt Airy Squadron was asked for a return engagement in assisting with parking and crowd control at: The Fifth Annual Celebrate Independence Day event for the Town of Mount Airy, Maryland.

Held at the Firemen’s Activities Grounds, this year’s event had extra fields for parking and seating. Mt Airy Squadron directed traffic, filled the parking lots in a smooth efficient manner and directed families toward safe passage to festival fun. General parking began at 4pm and within three hours the parking lots were filled to capacity. Our cadets became proficient at signaling cars and keeping the traffic moving.

The Squadron is proud to say that the event went amazingly well. The pedestrians were very cooperative and the drivers were very patient. Thanks go to the Sheriffs Department who worked with our cadets and helped maintain order.


Annual Awards Ceremony and Squadron Change of Command

Mt Airy Composite Squadron gathered on April 09, 2016 to recognize members for their hard work over the past year.   In addition, Mt Airy had a Squadron Commander Change of Command Ceremony.

Maj Weinhold has had a distinguished record of service to the community of Civil Air Patrol and especially to the Mt Airy Squadron. He has accepted a position within Group 1, Maryland Wing, and is moving up. His is a hard act to follow. Lt Col Buzzard will do his best to assume the dutiful position of Squadron Commander.

Cadet Awards were presented for: Best Physical Fitness – C/Am Elliott; Best Precision Drill – C/Am Messick; Outstanding Leadership Initiative – C/CMSgt Weinhold. There was also a Senior Member Promotion, 1st Lt Medina

Participating in the ceremony were: Lt Col R. Garnice, Group 1 Commander; TSgt C. D. Ray, Air Force Sergeants Association; Lt. Col J. McLellan; and Mr. Flanick. The evening was celebrated with family, friends and a remarkable dinner created by 2d Lt M. Lohoefer.
2016 Annual Banquet

A Change of Cadet Command

February 11, 2016 by 2nd LT Mary Alvarado

Civil Air Patrol, Maryland Wing, Mt Airy Composite Squadron, under the command of Maj Weinhold, observed the symbolic tradition of passing the flag. It is always difficult to follow in the footsteps of a good leader. Mt Airy was twice blessed in having to choose a successor from two amazing candidates.

Decision made, Color Guard polished, family and friends assembled, the flag was passed from C/Lt Boline to C/CMSgt Flanick. In addition to the change of command, two outstanding cadets, C/CMSgt Weinhold and C/CMSgt Huey were presented with the Armstrong Award. The evening of military tradition was topped off with inspirational speeches, camaraderie and light refreshments.

DSC_0732 DSC_0766DSC_0741a



Banquet 2015

Civil Air Patrol, Maryland Wing

Mount Airy celebrates accomplishments at Dining Out Awards Banquet

By 1st Lt Sherrie Weinhold CAP

3/21/2015 Damascus MD-Members of Civil Air Patrol, Maryland Wing’s Mount Airy Composite Squadron hosted their annual awards banquet on March 21, at the Montgomery United Methodist Church, Damascus Md.

The Mount Airy squadron held a dining out and awards banquet which highlighted this year’s achievements. The evening began with the presentation of colors rendered by the Mount Airy squadron color guard members, Cadet Senior Master Sargent Danny Flannick, Cadet Staff Sargent Jason Lohoefer, and Cadet Chief Master Sargent Katherine Weinhold and Keith Lohoefer.

The squadron was honored to have Major Kevin Martin, Maryland Wing group 1 commander in attendance at the banquet.

Each year, through an outstanding partnership with the Air Force Association (AFA), AFA presents a medal to the most outstanding CAP cadet. This silver medal presentation is accompanied by a sky blue ribbon and a certificate. This year Cadet 2nd Lt Joshua Flannick was presented the award.

As well as our association with the AFA the Air Force Sergeants association presents their award to an NCO. Master Sargent Johhny Forman was present from the AFSA to explain and present the award. This year C/SMsg Daniel Flanick is the recipient of this year’s award.

Mount Airy Composite squadron is privileged to have the support of the AFA and AFSA organizations.

In the tradition of Mount Airy’s past award ceremonies, cadets were recognized for their special strengths and contributions to the unit:

Outstanding Leadership Initiative – This is awarded to the cadet who most excelled in leadership instruction during 2014 – Cadet 2d Lt Joshua Boline.

Best Precision Drill – This is awarded to the cadet who has exhibited standards exceeding PT requirements during 2014 – Cadet Staff Sergeant Jason Lohoefer.

Best Physical Fitness This is awarded to the cadet who has exhibited standards exceeding PT requirements during 2014 – Cadet Staff Sergeant Jason Lohoefer.

Mount Airy Composite Squadron  MD091

Mount Airy Composite Squadron

The squadron’s 2014 “of the year” Awards were saved for last. These awards included:

Senior Member of the Year-This award is chosen by the cadets to recognize a senior member who goes above and beyond in supporting  the cadets.1st Lt Sherrie Weinhold

Cadet Airman of the year – 2014 CADET AIRMAN OF THE YEAR – This award is presented to the Phase I cadet who has most excelled in all facets of the cadet program during   Cadet Airman Zack Phelps

Cadet of the year- 2014 CADET OF THE YEAR – This award is presented to the cadet of any grade who displayed the most all around excellence during 2014.

The 2014 Mount Airy Composite Squadron Cadet of the Year is Cadet Chief Master Sergeant Katherine Weinhold. Cadet Chief Master Sgt Katherine Weinhold


All in attendance enjoyed a slide show prepared and presented by Cadet Chief Master Sgt Katherine Weinhold which summarized the training, search, and rescue exercises, promotions, and events of 2014.